Unfortunate news about my publisher, Samhain

Just-One-of-Those-Days-small
Yesterday I found out that Samhain Publishing (my publisher for Blood Vice, Ghost Soldiers, and The Zero Dog War) will be shutting down operations over the next six months. To say that I am staggered would be an understatement. I want to take a moment and wish the best to the editors, employees, authors, and readers who all made up the Samhain family. I’ve been with them since 2008-2009 when my excellent editor, Sasha Knight, accepted my first novel, Blood Vice. Sasha is a great editor. She also does freelance work, and I highly recommend her. Her website can be found here:
http://www.sashaknighteditor.com/.

So what does this mean? Well, I was erratically working my way through an edit/rewrite of Shadow Crew, the final book of the Nightfall Syndicate, with an eye toward releasing it through Samhain. Now that isn’t going to happen. And that makes me sad, for many reasons, including missing out on the chance to work with Sasha again. No publisher is going to want to release the 3rd book in a series, so I’ll have to self-pub that bastard. And if anything, my past efforts have shown me that I hands-down suck at hawking my books on my own. Or maybe it’s the product. At this point, the jury is out.

Also, if you are interested in any of my books published through Samhain, I’d grab them now before they are taken down—especially if you are interested in a print version. They will not be appearing again in the same form. On the same note, Run, Wolf will be pulled and won’t be back. The novella is my lowest-rated work. It may reappear at some future date as a full novel (the start-to-finish tale from inside the Blackstone Wolf Pack), but not for a long while. It was originally written for an anthology, hence the shorter length, but I believe the story was too big for the size of box I crammed it into.

I apologize for the general thread of negative news in this post, my friends, but it’s been a rough year to be an author.

Now I’m off to install a kitchen faucet, because those damn leaks don’t fix themselves.

 

2 thoughts on “Unfortunate news about my publisher, Samhain

  1. Man, that sucks. I just recently became aware of your work, and by extension, Samhain Publishing. It’s such a shame to see one more small publisher going under. When I saw an eclectic little publishing house putting out cool books like this, it gave me hope for the future of the industry. So now I guess I feel…wait, what’s the opposite of hope?

    Anyway, I’m a fan of somewhat offbeat, gritty, pulpy paranormal things, and it looks like your books will be right up my alley. I hope you keep at it, and I’m sure you’ll land on your feet.

    -Matt

Leave a Reply

